22 sold out screenings Live judging at Reikäreuna 10 years anniversary screening Dance-dance-dance Bathtub Kino at Reikäreuna 10 years anniversary screening And the winner is... Violet took over Tampere Balloons! Rush hour at plevna Some more violet Children's favourite character Katti Matikainen Grand Prix winner Bum-Bum doch' rybaka

22 sold out screenings

© Mikaela Välipakka

Live judging at Reikäreuna 10 years anniversary screening

© Paavo Pykäläinen


© Antti Pärnänen

Bathtub Kino at Reikäreuna 10 years anniversary screening

© Paavo Pykäläinen

And the winner is...

© Mikaela Välipakka

Violet took over Tampere

© Natalia Bielak


© Mikaela Välipakka

Rush hour at plevna

© Paavo Pykäläinen

Some more violet

© Paavo Pykäläinen

Children's favourite character Katti Matikainen

© Mikaela Välipakka

Grand Prix winner Bum-Bum doch' rybaka

Submission for the International Competition is closed

The submission for the International Competition 2015 is closed. The final selections will be released on February 2nd, 2015. Only the submitters of the selected films will be contacted personally. Thank you for all the filmmakers who have submitted a film!


Bum-bum doch' rybaka

Bum-bum doch’ rybaka (2013), an animated short film by Russian Ivan Maximov, has won the International Grand Prix at the 44th annual Tampere Film Festival. The film depicts a lonely fisherman and a baby elephant. The jury members stated that the winning film ”is powerful because it is a very human and pure animated film, with a beautiful simplicity and incredibly touching and poetic images that stay in the mind for a long, long time...”

The category prize for best fiction film was nominated to Quelqu’un d’extraordinaire (2013), directed by Canadian Monia Chokri. Beach Boy by Emil Langballen received the prize for best documentary film, and Moonshine by Polish Michal Poniedzieslki was awarded best animation. The Hungarian fiction Fal, directed by Simon Szabo, received the EFA Tampere nomination, meaning the film gets to compete in the best short film category at the European Film Awards.

In addition, the jury awarded three films with Diplomas of Merit in each category: South Korean short documentary Haegeumni (2012) by Joon-su Seong; Serbian animated film Rabbitland (2013) directed by Ana Nedeljkovic and Nikola Majdak Jr; and Sahim Omar Kalifa's fiction Baghdad Messi (2013).

The International Jury members were Gabriel Gauchet, the 2013 Grand Prix winner from France, South African filmmaker Riaan Hendricks, Till Nowak from Germany, Finnish director Virpi Suutari, and Latvian festival coordinator Anna Veilande-Kustikova. 

The national competition presented quality documentaries with lot of soul

The winner of National Competition's under 30 minutes category is Emergency Calls, an experimental documentary film by the prodigies Hannes Vartiainen and Pekka Veikkolainen. The jury described the film as a ”unique expression for the most private feelings of a human in need of help. It gives the sense of urgency without sensationalism. Image and sound compliment each other perfectly and leave no soul untouched.”

The special prize in the under 30 minutes category was handed out to No Time for Toes, an animated film by Kari Pieskä. The film also received the Student Prize. 
Garden Lovers, a documentary by Virpi Suutari, won the main prize in the over 30 minutes category. The special prize was presented to Pixadores.
The Diplomas of Merit were granted to Pia Andell's feature documentary The Patron and the short documentary Santra and the Talking Trees by Miia Tervo. The national jury duties were carried out by Taina Ronkainen, Antti Selkokari and Jing Haase.

The Risto Jarva Prize was handed out to Hamy Ramezan's Keys of Heaven. ” The story is told in a controlled way. Like any good film does, it provokes emotions, thoughts, and questions. The casting and the directing of actors are excellent and very convincing. The director keeps technical and artistic execution in control throughout the film”, the jury argued. 

Also the youth jury announced Keys of Heaven as their favourite film. In addition they awarded Behind the Curtain by Teemu Nikki with a Diploma of Merit. The youth jury members were local high school students Waltteri Kivelä, Mimi Mylly, Mikke Palvanen ja Rasmus Toppari.

A total of 22 screening were sold out. The audiences were especially intrigued by both International and National Competition screenings and Hopper Stories, a collection of short films inspired by Edward Hopper's paintings. All three Hopper Stories screenings were sold out. In addition, Two screenings dedicated to Till Nowak, as well as the feature-length documentaries Punk in Africa and Ai Weiwei the Fake Case were sold out.